Skip to content

Gear and gadgets

December 13, 2012

weekendEDCI’m a science journalist by trade, so it should hardly come as a surprise that I am a geek by nature. A nerd. As such, I have to admit that I love gadgets.

Of course, I am guilty of the usual nerdy enthusiasm for all sorts of electronic devices. However, my love of gadgets doesn’t stop – or should I say start – there. I like just about everything that’s cleverly thought out and well built, from guitars and cameras to boots, flashlights and knives.

I have always known that I was not alone in my affection for flashlights, pocket knives, watches, wallets and all the other stuff we carry around to make our lives easier. About a year ago, I found out that there is actually an acronym for all this stuff, the practice of carrying it and the special mindset that goes with that practice. Apparently, it is called EDC – short for every day carry. Of course, there is a special place on the Interwebs for gadgeteers and gear geeks like yours truly,  EDC Forums, or EDCF for short. Ever since I discovered this forum, I’ve been hooked. I’ve hardly spent (wasted?) so much time on the Internet since I started blogging back in 2003 or thereabout.

I spend most of my time on EDCF reading, looking at pretty pictures or discussing more or less important topics with fellow gear addicts. However, as the incurable writer, I have also produced a couple of articles and gear reviews for my fellow EDC junkies. Now, I think it is time to share some of these articles with a broader audience, namely you, my dear readers. From now on, you will find my own personal gear reviews on the “Gadgetry” page. Enjoy or ignore on your own risk!

bcedc

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

