Skip to content

Beware of the text thieves!

June 18, 2008

I got quite a surprise when I found out that my original post Planet of the naked apes is copied word for word and presented as original material without any attribution to me at http://green.bligblog.com/.

As I hope you have noticed, my entire blog is licensed under an Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works Creative Commons license, which means that the text may be reproduced freely for noncommercial purposes if – and only if – it is clearly and unequivocally attributed to me. However, the “Green” blog mentions neither my name nor the name of my blog. Neither does it link to the original post or to my blog at all. To make matters even worse, the blog uses some sort of  ad system called Bliggo, which displays advertising on the blog. This seems to be a step away from a strictly noncommercial blog, and might in itself violate the terms of the CC license.

The most annoying thing of all is that there is no way to contact the people behind the blog. Comments on the site are closed, and there is no e-mail address or any other contact information on the blog at all. I have gone one step further, and tried to find the people responsible for the bligblog.com domain, with the same result. Comments closed, no contact information. If any of my readers know how I can get in contact with these scoundrels, or at least find out who they are, please leave a reply here, or contact me by e-mail to thesungame@yahoo.com.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2008 12:05 am

    How frustrating, actually, infuriating to not even be able to contact the site in any way! You can do a “whois” search: http://www.whois.net/ on the domain name and find out contact information on who registered the domain–it did pull up information for bligblog.com so it’s worth trying to contact them. Hope that helps.

    Like

  2. June 19, 2008 9:31 am

    Ah, thank you, Kelly. I’ll certainly do that. I was so upset about the hole thing that I forgot about whois.

    Like

  3. June 19, 2008 12:20 pm

    Here it is:
    http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=bligblog&tld=com

    Administrative Contact:
    Wijk, J. admin@nederlands.net
    P.O. BOX 107
    Oceanic House
    Duke Street
    Grand Turk, None None
    TC
    +31 2569741
    Fax:+31 2569741

    The address is located in the Turks and Caicos Islands, while the e-mail address seems to have something to do with the Netherlands. All in all it does not look super serious, but I will give it a try.

    Like

  4. June 22, 2008 8:44 pm

    I tried to e-mail the mysterious J. Wijk on Friday June 20th, but got the following automatically generated Delivery Status Notification:

    “Delivery to the following recipient has been delayed: admin@nederlands.net.

    Message will be retried for 2 more day(s)

    Technical details of temporary failure:
    TEMP_FAILURE: The recipient server did not accept our requests to connect.”

    I guess I am going wait for two more days, then I will try to e-mail the administrative contact for nederlands.net.

    Like

  5. Synnøve permalink
    June 23, 2008 10:03 pm

    That is really annoying and inconsiderate! I hope you get a hold of someone responsible, or at least someone who could make them credit you, or remove your post from their site.

    Like

  6. June 27, 2008 9:21 am

    What’s behind bligblog’s “About” link:

    “This is an example of a WordPress page, you could edit this to put information about yourself or your site so readers know where you are coming from. You can create as many pages like this one or sub-pages as you like and manage all of your content inside of WordPress.”

    Yeah.

    Like

  7. June 27, 2008 9:24 am

    And it looks like you may be able to leave a comment at the “about”page, if you are logged on as a WordPress user… Maybe the WordPress guys are the ones to contact here?

    Like

  8. June 30, 2008 8:55 am

    Isla: I am a WordPress(.com) user, and it does not help me one bit when it comes to the bligblog.com login. My guess is that the bligblog people use the wordpress software from wordpress.org to create the blog, which is in turn hosted by bligblog.com. In that case, the WordPress guys have no responsibility, it would be a bit like suing the ink manufacturer instead of the newspaper in a libel case.

    Like

Leave a Reply

